Saturday, November 17, 2007

[HA-4] Sing With Me - music for the human voice

New compilation from Harha-askel, this time focusing on music made for (and with) the human voice, ranging from song-forms to abstract voicings. Demented pirate blues from Alligator Crystal Moth, Robert Horton goes pop (sort of), Jani Hellén explores the mellotron's vox humana, Ville Moskiitto interprets an old Finnish hymn, Komutian throat singing from Kheta Hotem and lots more... Artists from Finland, France, Italy, USA, Australia, Faroe Islands and Great Britain.

1. Lamppukello - Maalari Mäki
2. Robert Horton - Fry Your Brains Out In Your Hat
3. Alligator Crystal Moth - The Mad Courier
4. Jani Hellén - Silpoydin (Static)
5. Kheta Hotem - Around a Single Bird
6. Metsämorfeus - Pilvin poikin kottaraista
7. Vellamo - Olemisen riemu
8. The Mighty Acts of God - The Slow Hardwood of a Once Thorough Woman
9. Rokkiryhmä - Laulu miehestä
10. Sorella di Kometan Pärsson - Best Explanation
11. Wanton Loverboy - Sucking Tits
12. Hue (with Gaia) - Pillow Talk
13. Autumn Galaxy - Red Glow
14. The Reggaee - Lude
15. Xenis Emputae Travelling Band & Jani Hellén - The Secret Gregorian Plug-In
16. Ville Moskiitto - Oi Herra jos mä matkamies maan

Limited edition of 80 copies on black cd-r. Printed covers and insert in plastic sleeve.

What they say

"Released on the Harha Askel label (who released a similar compilation featuring guitar players last year) ‘sing With Me-Music For The Human Voice’, is a collection of wonderful experimental folk songs with the accent firmly on the voice, although the music is excellent too. After the little girl vocal nursery rhyme of Lammppukello, the prolific Robert Horton (didn’t think we would get through a rumble without him did you?) enthrals us with the old Americana weirdness of ‘Fry Your Brains Out In Your Hat’, after which Alligator Crystal Moth take you further out there with the truly wonderful ‘The Mad Courier’. While these may be the most well known names on the compilation, at least to Terrascope readers, every single track is worth hearing, showing how versatile and inventive humans and their voices can be. Possibly Rumbles album of the month." (Simon Lewis / Terrascope Online)